profile picture

English French Spanish

Atlantic County, New Jersey

Atlantic County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey. As of the 2000 Census, the population is 252,552. Its county seat is Mays Landing.

This county is part of the Delaware Valley area.


All of what is known today as Atlantic County was once called Egg Harbor Township, the eastern half of the original County of Gloucester. Named as an official district as early as 1693, when the area was known as the province of West Jersey, it was bounded on the north by the Little Egg Harbor River (now known as the Mullica River), and on the south by the Great Egg Harbor River and its southern branch the Tuckahoe River. Its eastern boundary was the Atlantic Ocean, but the western boundary in the South Jersey interior was not fixed until 1761.


Absecon (city)
Atlantic City (city)
Brigantine (city)
Buena Vista Township (township)
Collings Lakes
Buena (borough)
Corbin City (city)
Egg Harbor City (city)
Egg Harbor Township (township)
Estell Manor (city)
Folsom (borough)
Galloway Township (township)
Hamilton Township (township)
Mays Landing
Hammonton (town)
Linwood (city)
Longport (borough)
Margate City (city)
Mullica Township (township)
Northfield (city)
Pleasantville (city)
Port Republic (city)
Somers Point (city)
Ventnor City (city)
Weymouth Township (township)