profile picture

English French Spanish

Cape May County, New Jersey

Cape May County is the southernmost county in the U.S. state of New Jersey. As of the 2000 Census, the population is 102,326. It is included in the Ocean City Metropolitan Statistical Area. Its county seat is the Cape May Court House section of Middle Township.

This county is part of the Delaware Valley area.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,607 km² (620 sq mi). 661 km² (255 sq mi) of it is land and 946 km² (365 sq mi) of it (58.86%) is water.

Most of the county is flat and coastal. Sea level is the lowest point; the highest elevation is found at three areas in Belleplain State Forest in the county's northern corner which are approximately 60 feet (18.2 m) above sea level.


The following municipalities are located in Cape May County. The municipality type is listed in parentheses after the name, except where the type is included as part of the name. Census-designated places and other unincorporated communities are listed under their municipalities.

Avalon (borough)
Cape May Point (borough)
Cape May (city)
Dennis Township
Lower Township
Diamond Beach
North Cape May
Middle Township
Cape May Court House
Rio Grande
North Wildwood (city)
Ocean City
Sea Isle City
Stone Harbor (borough)
Upper Township
West Cape May (borough)
West Wildwood (borough)
Wildwood Crest (borough)
Wildwood (city)
Woodbine (borough)