profile picture

English French Spanish

Passaic County, New Jersey

Passaic County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey. As of the 2000 Census, the population was 489,049. Its county seat is Paterson. It is part of the New York Metropolitan Area.

Passaic County was created on February 7, 1837, from portions of both Bergen County and Essex County.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 510 km² (197 sq mi). 480 km² (185 sq mi) of it is land and 30 km² (12 sq mi) of it (5.97%) is water.

The highest point is any one of six areas on Bearfort Ridge in West Milford Township at approximately 1,480 ft (451 m) above sea level. The lowest elevation is approximately 30 ft (9 m) along the Passaic River in Clifton.

The southeastern, more populous half of the county is either flat near the river or mildly hilly. The northwestern section is rugged and mountainous.

Bloomingdale (borough)
Macopin, New Jersey (community)
Clifton (city)
Haledon (borough)
Hawthorne (borough)
Little Falls (township)
North Haledon (borough)
Passaic (city)
Paterson (city)
Pompton Lakes (borough)
Prospect Park (borough)
Ringwood (borough)
Totowa (borough)
Wanaque (borough)
Haskell (community)
Wayne (township)
Packanack Lake (community)
Pines Lake (community)
Preakness (community)
West Milford (township)
Hewitt (community)
Newfoundland (community)
Oak Ridge (community)
West Paterson (borough)

Got a Question?

Do you have a question? We can help. Simply fill out the form below and we'll contact you with the answer, with no obligation to you. We guarantee your privacy.

Your Information
Your Question