profile picture

English French Spanish

Somerset County, New Jersey

Somerset County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey. As of 2000, the population was 297,490. It is part of the New York Metropolitan Area. Its county seat is Somerville6. Somerset County has the seventh-highest per capita income of any U.S. county, based on per capita income.

Somerset County was created on May 14, 1688, from portions of Middlesex County


Somerset County is one of America's oldest counties. The area was first settled in 1681, in the vicinity of Bound Brook, and the county was established by charter on May 22, 1688. Most of the early residents were Dutch. General George Washington and his troops marched through the county on several occasions and slept in many of the homes located throughout the area. Parts of the Delaware and Raritan Canal run through the county. Somerset County also played an important part during both World War I and World War II with weapons depots and the manufacturing of the army's woolen blankets.


The following is a list of the municipalities in Somerset County. Other, unincorporated areas in the county are listed below their parent municipality (or municipalities, as the case may be). Most of these areas are census-designated places that have been created by the United States Census Bureau for enumeration purposes within a Township. Other communities, historical areas, unincorporated areas, and enclaves that exist within a municipality are marked as non-CDP next to the name.

Bedminster Township
Bernards Township
Basking Ridge
Liberty Corner
West Millington
Bound Brook
Branchburg Township
Bridgewater Township
Far Hills
Franklin Township
East Millstone non-CDP
Franklin Park non-CDP
Griggstown non-CDP
Kingston non-CDP (Somerset County portion)
Middlebush non-CDP
Pleasant Plains non-CDP
Six Mile Run non-CDP
Weston non-CDP
Zarephath non-CDP
Green Brook Township
Hillsborough Township
Belle Mead non-CDP
Blackwells Mills non-CDP
Harlingen non-CDP
Flagtown non-CDP
Neshanic non-CDP
South Branch non-CDP
Montgomery Township
North Plainfield
Rocky Hill
South Bound Brook
Warren Township