profile picture

English French Spanish


Warren County, New Jersey

Warren County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey and is part of the New York metropolitan area. As of the 2000 Census, the population was 102,437. Its county seat is Belvidere.

Warren County was incorporated by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on November 20, 1824, from portions of Sussex County. At its creation, the county consisted of the townships of Greenwich, Independence, Knowlton, Mansfield, Oxford, Pahaquarry (now defunct).

Warren County is generally considered the eastern border of the Lehigh Valley.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 940 km² (363 sq mi). 927 km² (358 sq mi) of it is land and 13 km² (5 sq mi) of it (1.35%) is water.

Much of Warren County is rugged and mountainous, with the Kittatinny Ridge providing a hard backbone to the county in the west and many lower ridges winding their way through the county, with narrow valleys in between. The highest elevation is on the Kittatinny Ridge, at two areas near Upper Yards Creek Reservoir near Blairstown that slightly exceed 1,600 feet (487.6 m) above sea level; the lowest point is the confluence of the Delaware and Musconetcong rivers at the county's southern tip, at 160 feet (48.7 m) of elevation.

Allamuchy Township
Allamuchy-Panther Valley
Blairstown Township
Franklin Township
Frelinghuysen Township
Greenwich Township
Hardwick Township
Harmony Township
Hope Township
Independence Township
Great Meadows-Vienna
Knowlton Township
Liberty Township
Lopatcong Township
Mansfield Township
Oxford Township
Pohatcong Township
Washington Township
Brass Castle
White Township